Research
Guide : Artist Biographies
Follow
these steps to successfully find information
to complete your Art 1010 assignment:
Choose
an Artist
Begin Your Research
Other Reference Sources
Find Books on Your Artist
Even More Books
Locate Articles on Your Artist
Retrieve Articles
Internet Sites on Your Artist
Look at Online Images of Works of Art
Write Correct Citations
Printable
checklist of this research guide.
Choose
an Artist
To select
an artist if you have not already chosen one:
Gardner's
Art Through the Ages Reference N 5300 .G25 2001
This is an art "survey" book that includes the history of
art for all times periods and many geographic regions. It includes examples
of artwork.
Begin
Your Research
The best
place to begin your research on a particular artist:
Dictionary
of Art Reference N 31 .D5 1996
This is
the most current and comprehensive encyclopedia of art. Use the index
volume to find your artist since names are not always filed where you
think (Leonardo da Vinci is under "L"; Vincent van Gogh is
under "G"). These books do not check out but you may make
photocopies.
What to
look for in the Dictionary of Art:
- Name
- Dates
- Period of time
- Geographic region or country
- Genre (Cubist, Modernist, etc.)
- Formats (painting, sculpture, etc.)
- Names of important works
- Other resources listed in the bibliography
Other
Reference Sources
Other reference
books that might be helpful:
- The Prestel Dictionary of Art and Artists in the 20th Century
Reference N 33 .P74 2000
- A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art
Reference N 6490 .C5317 1999
- Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists
Reference N 6512 .C854 1994
- Dictionary of Women Artists
Reference N 8354 .D53 1997
- Biographical Dictionary of Artists
Reference N 40 .B53 1995
- Lives
of the Great 20th Century Artists
Reference N
6489 .L83 1999
- World Artists
Reference N 6489 .M37 1984
- Contemporary Western Artists
Reference N 6525 .S25 1985
- Penguin Concise Dictionary of Art History
Reference N 5300 .F64 2000
- North American Women Artists
Reference N 6503 .N67 1995
Find
Books on Your Artist
To find biographies of artists and books of artworks,
use the library catalog:
Library Home Page > Books & More >
Library Catalog.
Search by:
- Name of artist (e.g. Claude Monet)
- Format (e.g. sculptures, paintings, etc.)
- Genre (e.g. Impressionist)
- Geographic area (e.g. art and Italy)
- Time period (e.g. art and twentieth century)
Look carefully at the call number and location of books you find.
Many art books are in the Oversize section located on the main
level.
Even More Books
Would you like to find more books on your artist?
Look in the bibliography of the encyclopedia article or check the
online catalogs of other libraries.
We can get almost any book for you through our free Interlibrary Loan
service. All you need to know is the title, author, publisher, place
and date of publication.
To register for Interlibrary Loan and place requests online, go to:
Library Home Page > Books & More > Interlibrary
Loan.
It usually takes 3-5 days for Interlibrary Loan books to arrive.
Locate Articles on Your Artist
The library has several article databases that can help you find information about your artist.
Biographies Plus Illustrated :: Great source of full-text articles on
110,000 famous people -- your artist is probably included!

SIRS Renaissance
:: Full-text articles of a variety of subjects.

Art FullText
:: Comprehensive, contains some full-text articles. An excellent source for articles of art criticism.

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite
:: Articles of a variety of subjects, some full text. Search by artist's name in quotes (e.g. "Edgar Degas").

Retrieve Articles
If you find an article
that is not full-text in that database,
- Look for the journal title in our
Full-text Electronic Periodicals
list to see if it is full-text in another database.
- Search journal title in the
library catalog
to check if we have the periodical in our library collection.
- If the journal
is not full-text in any database or in the Browning library, order
it from the Utah Article Delivery Service, UTAD.
It's free and your article usually arrives in two days or less.
Internet
Sites on Your Artist
Some wonderful art
history resources are available on the Internet.
Here are some Web
sites you may find helpful:
ArtCyclopedia
:: Search by artist name, title or work, movement, subject, nationality,
or browse 7,500 artists.
Art
History Resources on the Web :: Comprehensive directory of images,
biographical and background information, museum links, and more.
WebMuseum, Paris :: Organized
by period. Includes more than 150 artists with biographical information
and images of their work.
Google
:: Enter your artist's name in quotes (e.g. "Marc Chagall").
Look at Online Images of Artworks
To find images
of artworks on the World Wide Web:
Art Resources Archive
:: Over 3 million images by 10,000 artists.
World Art Treasures ::
Over 100,000 images searchable by artist, country, or period.
Web
Gallery of Art :: Searchable database of 10,000 images of European
painting and sculture from 1150 to 1800.
World
Wide Arts Resources :: Includes brief biographical information and
links to images of works by a variety of masters.
Art Images for College
Teaching :: "A free-use image resource for the educational
community" based on popular art survey textbooks.
Orazio Centario's Art Images
on the Web :: Links to over 13,000
art images.
Google Image Search :: The most
comprehensive image search on the Web. Enter your artist's name in quotes
(e.g. "Paul Cezanne").
Corbis
:: Commercial image database with free viewing access.
Write Correct Citations
After you gather your sources, it is important to format them correctly
in your Works Cited list.
We have created a guide
to assist you in creating correct citations (Library Home Page >
Help (upper right) > MLA Style Guide).
If you need additional assistance, there is also an online
MLA Style Tutorial.
Remember, for help with citations or any other research,
there are librarians available to assist you!
Printable
checklist of this research guide.
|
Created by:
Martha Talman
Instruction Librarian
|
Questions or corrections?
Contact: talman@dixie.edu |
Date Created:
08/01/02
Last Updated:
06/10/03 |