Research
Guide :
Biology 1030
Extra
Credit Assignment
There are 15 periodicals acceptable for the Extra Credit Paper in
Biology 1030. Of these, three (3) are not currently available. Alcohol
Health & Research World discontinued publication in 1998,
and American Health ceased publication in 1999. The third,
Utah Science, is published very irregularly, is not indexed,
and has not been received since 2003.
Therefore, 12 periodicals are useful to students completing this
assignment. There is a different procedure for accessing each periodical,
sometimes involving several steps.
In order to help you successfully complete this assignment, please
read about the different journals below. Some periodicals are available
full-text online in the library databases, but others are not. All
12 periodicals are indexed in online databases, and print copies of
periodicals not available online are in the Browning Library.
To access a specific periodical, select the title from the list
below. Read the availability details and then follow the instructions
listed for accessing articles.
Periodicals
There are three categories of periodicals:
- Full-text online
- Full-text online until one year previous with print copies of
previous year available in Browning Library
- Not full-text online but print copies are available in Browning
Library
All periodicals are either full-text or fully indexed in EBSCOhost
Academic Search Premier. The number next to the title denotes the
category of the periodical.
BioScience (1)
Discover (1)
JAMA (3)
Journal of Nutrition (3)
Lancet (1)
New England Journal of Medicine (3)
Nursing (1)
Prevention (1)
Science (2)
Science News (1)
Scientific American (1)
Nature (2)
Type 1 Periodicals (full-text online):
1. Go to EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier
2. Limit by periodical title
3. Limit by date
4. Find article(s) by searching keywords or subjects in database
5. Print / Save / Email article
Type 2 Periodicals (partial full-text online)
1. Go to EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier
2. Limit by periodical title
3. Limit by date
4. Find article(s) by searching keywords or subjects in database
5. Print / Save / Email full-text articles and citations
6. Locate print copy of periodical in Browning Library by call number
for non- full-text articles
7. Make photocopies
Type 3 Periodicals (non full-text online):
1. Go to EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier
2. Limit by periodical title
3. Limit by date
4. Find article(s) by searching keywords or subjects in database
5. Print / Save / Email citation
6. Locate print copy of periodical in Browning Library by call number
7. Make photocopies
Off-Campus Access to Article Databases
The current username and password is necessary to access EBSCOhost
Academic Search Premier from off-campus. The password may be obtained
in person from at the Browning Library. Current DSC ID is necessary.

BioScience
Subjects: Biological Sciences;
Medical Sciences; General Science; Biology; Nature & the Environment;
Environmental Studies; Marine Sciences
Description: Presents articles
dealing with current advances in the field of biological science for
researchers, administrators and teachers. Published by American Institute
of Biological Sciences (AIBS)
Back to Top
Discover
- Full-text available in EBSCOhost
Academic Search Premier 1993 - present
- Print copies also available in Browning Library 1986 - present
- Call number: Q 1 .D57
(newer issues on Main floor in Current Periodicals, older issues in
basement)
Subjects: General Science; Biological
Sciences; Chemistry & Chemicals; Physics; Marine Sciences; Archaeology;
Aeronautics & Space Sciences; Astronomy & Astrophysics; Biology;
Aviation & Space Exploration; Aeronautics, Astronomy & Astrophysics
Description: Newsmagazine of science
devoted to the wonders, mysteries and challenges of modern science,
written for the educated layperson
Back to Top
JAMA (Journal of the
American Medical Association)
- Indexed in EBSCOhost
Academic Search Premier 1989 - present
- NOT-FULL TEXT ONLINE
- Find full-text article in Browning Library 1991 - present
- Call number: R 15 .A48
(newer issues on Main floor in Current Periodicals, older issues in
basement)
Subjects: Medical Sciences; Food
Science & Nutrition; Allied Health
Description: Reports on the progress
in clinical medicine research and developments in other areas related
to medicine
Back to Top
Journal of Nutrition
- Indexed in EBSCOhost
Academic Search Premier 1993 - present
- NOT-FULL TEXT ONLINE
- Find full-text in Browning Library 2003 - present
- Call number: RM 214 .J6
(newer issues on Main floor in Current Periodicals, older issues in
basement)
Subjects: Food Science & Nutrition;
Chemistry & Chemicals; Biological Sciences; Food & Nutrition;
Medical Sciences; Biology
Description: Original research,
critical reviews and commentary, issues and opinions and biographies
and historical perspectives on biochemical and molecular roles of
nutrients, community and international nutrition, human and clinical
nutrition and metabolism
Back to Top
Lancet
Subjects: Medical Sciences; Food
Science & Nutrition; Biology; Biological Sciences; Allied Health
Description: A medical publication
from Great Britain, featuring articles of interest to the medical
world, with heavy emphasis on research techniques
Back to Top
Nature
- Find full-text in Browning Library 1997 - present
- Call number: Q 1 .N2
(newer issues on Main floor in Current Periodicals, older issues in
basement)
Subjects: General Science; Food
Science & Nutrition; Chemistry & Chemicals; Biological Sciences;
Medical Sciences; Astronomy & Astrophysics; Biology; Geology;
Aeronautics, Astronomy & Astrophysics
Description: Original research
articles & letters, review articles, news of science in universities,
industry & government, correspondence and opinion pieces.
Back to Top
New England Journal of Medicine
- Indexed in EBSCOhost
Academic Search Premier 1984 - present
- NOT-FULL TEXT ONLINE
- Find full-text article in Browning Library 1993 - present
- Call number: R 11 .B7
(newer issues on Main floor in Current Periodicals, older issues in
basement)
Subjects: Medical Sciences; Food
Science & Nutrition; Biological Sciences; Biology; Allied Health
Description: Professional clinical/scientific
publication directed to practicing physicians, but including articles
for interns, residents and medical students worldwide
Back to Top
Nursing
- Full-text available in EBSCOhost
Academic Search Premier 1975 - present
- Print copies also available in Browning Library
- Call number: RT 1 .N76
(newer issues on Main floor in Current Periodicals, older issues in
basement)
Subjects: Nursing; Management;
Health Business; Allied Health
Description: Articles, special
reports, profiles, and news of note published for professional nurses
and administrators in hospitals, managed health care, doctor's offices
and schools
Back to Top
Prevention
Subjects: Consumer Health; Food
& Nutrition; Food Science & Nutrition; General Interest
Description: Focuses on health
and personal fitness. Covers natural foods, nutrition, medical treatments,
exercise and contemporary life-styles
Back to Top
Science
Subjects: General Science; Medical
Sciences; Nature & the Environment; Astronomy & Astrophysics;
Biology; Biological Sciences; Chemistry & Chemicals; Physics;
Aeronautics & Space Sciences; Environmental Studies; Aviation
& Space Exploration; Geology; Aeronautics, Astronomy & Astrophysics
Description: Contains peer-reviewed
articles, original research reports, a news section, editorials, letters,
and book reviews on timely science-related topics
Back to Top
Science News
- Full-text available in EBSCOhost
Academic Search Premier 1975 - present
- Print copies also available in Browning Library
- Call number: Q 1 .S76
(newer issues on Main floor in Current Periodicals, older issues in
basement)
Subjects: General Science; Consumer
Health; Biological Sciences; Chemistry & Chemicals; Physics; Aeronautics
& Space Sciences; Medical Sciences; Environmental Studies; Nature
& the Environment; Astronomy & Astrophysics; Biology; Aviation
& Space Exploration; Aeronautics, Astronomy & Astrophysics
Description: Presents articles
of interest to scientists and others involved with the latest developments
in science
Back to Top
Scientific American
- Full-Text available in EBSCOhost
Academic Search Premier 1995 - present
- Print copies also available in Browning Library 1998 - present
- Call number: T 1 .S5
(newer issues on Main floor in Current Periodicals, older issues in
basement)
Subjects: General Science; Consumer
Health; General Interest; Biological Sciences; Chemistry & Chemicals;
Physics; Aeronautics & Space Sciences; Environmental Studies;
Medical Sciences; Nature & the Environment; Astronomy & Astrophysics;
Biology; Aviation & Space Exploration; Aeronautics, Astronomy
& Astrophysics
Description: Authoritative articles
on all sciences by scientists who do the research reported. Edited
for the interested layman. Features science and the citizen, computer
reactions, the amateur scientists, reviews of current books in science
and bibliographies
Back to Top
Utah Science
- Not indexed
- Print available in Browning Library 1967 - 2003 (irregular publication
dates)
S 119 .E29
(newer issues on Main floor in Current Periodicals, older issues in
basement)
Alcohol Health & Research World
- Ceased publication in 1998
American Health
- Ceased publication in 1999
Back to Top
|
Ccreated by:
Martha Talman
Instruction Librarian
|
Questions or corrections?
Contact: talman@dixie.edu |
Date Created:
08/31/04
Last Updated:
09/03/04 |