Sample Search
Full-Text of Articles
Resources -- Books
Resources -- Search engines, databases, and utilities
Students will complete six papers on individual species:
- One species from Kingdom Protistan in the Domain Eukaryote
DUE: Friday, January 27
- One species from Kingdom Fungi in the Domain Eukaryote
DUE: Friday, Febraury 10
- One invertebrate species from Kingdom Plantae in the Domain Eukaryote
DUE: Friday, February 24
- One invertebrate species from Kingdom Animalia in the Domain Eukaryote
DUE: Friday, March 10
- One vertebrate species from Kingdom Animalia in the Domain Eukaryote
DUE: Friday, March 31
- One species from Archaebacteria, Eubacteria, a virus, or a prion
DUE: Friday, April 14
Papers must be typed, without spelling or grammatical errors, and contain
at least two pages (but no more than five pages) of narrative (12 point
font, double spaced, with 1 inch margins).
Photos, schematics or drawings,
if included, do not count toward the required two pages of narrative
text.
At the end of the paper, but not counted toward two pages of narrative,
the references are cited using MLA format (see library MLA
Style Guide). You may use RefWorks to assist in formulating your bibliography, but you are responsible for ensuring the correct content and format of your citations.
Grading
- 0-5 points: Proper format of paper and proper references
- 0-5 points: Classification
- 0-10 points: Evolutionary history and evolutionary trends (phylogeny)
- 0-10 points: Morphology (structure, shape, coloration, appearance)
- 0-10 points: Life Cycle & Modes of Reproduction
- 0-10 points: Habitat, Niche, and Importance in Ecosystem and to Mankind
- +5 extra credit points if substantially correct paper submitted Friday 2:00 p.m. one week before the due date
I. CLASSIFICATION
Information needed in this section:
Domain, Kingdom, Phylum (and subphylum if given), Class, Order (and suborder if given), Family (supra and subfamily if given), Genus and Species name.
- You must properly write genus and species names or points are deducted
- Address any questions that exist about the classification of the species
- Address any evidence that supports the classification scheme you decide upon
Search words: "Classification," "Taxonomy" and
"Systematics" combined with your organism's name
Good web sites:
http://bioinformatics.ubc.ca/atlas/webtools/taxonlist.php
http://tolweb.org/tree/phylogeny.html
http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/help/taxaform.html
http://www.biosis.org/zrdocs/zoolinfo/stn_nome.htm
http://www.natureserve.org/explorer/servlet/NatureServe?init=Species
II. EVOLUTIONARY HISTORY AND TRENDS
Information needed in this section:
- Address the broad macro-evolutionary questions (time lines and trends)
- If available, add a schematic showing family tree, but be sure to add a verbal explanation-don’t simply attach a schematic and assume that Dr. Allen will figure out what it means!
- What fossil records, DNA data, RNA info, or other evidence exists to support your statements about evolution, and what dates have been established?
- Address the specific micro-evolutionary questions (gene frequencies, strains or races within a species).
Search words: evolutionary history, evolution, evolutionary time-line, phylogeny, systematics, and cladistics
Good web sites:
http://tolweb.org/tree/phylogeny.html
http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/help/taxaform.html (no bacteria, good otherwise)
http://www.biosis.org/zrdocs/zoolinfo/stn_nome.htm
http://www.adonline.id.au/plantevol/ (plants only)
III. MORPHOLOGY (structure, shape, coloration, appearance)
Information needed in this section:
- What does organism look like?
- Are genders the same or different in appearance.
- Does the organism look different at different stages in life cycle, or perhaps in different environmental conditions?
Search words: Usually, morphology is found if you simply use the genus species name as a search term. But try: morphology, size, shape, appearance
Web sites are too diverse to list
IV. LIFE CYCLE AND MODES OF REPRODUCTION
Information needed in this section:
- If available, include a schematic with verbal description of life stages, and relative time periods during each stage.
- How long does an individual live?
- If your species is a pathogen, you should describe how the organism enters a host, causes disease symptoms and then exits to infect a new host.
- Does organism have sexual and/or asexual forms of reproduction?
- How many offspring are normally reared? Do both parents provide care?
Search words: life cycle, disease life cycle, reproduction
Good web sites:
http://www.cdc.gov/az.do ( if organism is a human pathogen)
http://www.doctorfungus.org/ (fungi)
http://www.hcs.ohio-state.edu/hcs300/gymno.htm (gymnosperms plants)
http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/help/taxaform.html
http://www.microbes.info/ (bacteria)
V. HABITAT, NICHE, IMPORTANCE IN ECOSYSTEM OR TO MANKIND
This is a “catch all” section. It really depends on your organism.
- If it is a pathogen, address how common, how widespread, how economically or socially devastating is the disease.
- What does organism eat? Where does it live? Where is it distributed across the world?
Search words: habitat, niche, "role of", "importance of", "disease and", ecosystem, ecology, "epidemiology of", etc.
Good web sites:
http://www.cdc.gov/az.do ( if organism is a human pathogen)
http://www.doctorfungus.org/ (fungi)
http://www.microbes.info/ (bacteria)
http://medinfo.ufl.edu/year2/mmid/bms5300/bugs/index.html (bacteria and fungi)
A FEW NOTES OF WARNING
- Be sure to indentify the source of your information in both a signal
tag (According to ...) and parenthetical or in-text citation (Adams
24) . To not do so could lead to plagiarism. You must also include a
full list of Works Cited. To see how to correctly format both parenthetical
and bibliographic citations, use the library MLA
Style Guide.
- If you do not put the information into your own words and use correct
citations, you are plagiarizing. Avoid using long quotes; read the material
and put it into your own words. This is called paraphrasing, and with
a citation it avoids plagiarism and shows you understand the material.
- Do not rely on the abstracts found on the web or in the databases.
If you want to use the paper as a source, you must get the entire paper.
- Once you have the entire paper, do not rely on just the abstract.
Use the place in the paper where the actual information is found.
- If you find information in one articles that is cited from another
article, you MUST get the original article to use as your source.
- If you include material out of context, it is thereforeclear that
you have no idea of the meaning of that material, then you HAVE NOT
FOUND THE REQUIRED MATERIAL or USED THE REQUIRED SOURCES and points
will be deducted. Here are examples of problem paragraphs:
Penicillium marneffei
was once believed to have been most closely related to the subgenus
Furcatum. However, recent research has told us that mareffei is most
closely related to subgenus Biverticillium. Also, the sexual state of
Talorolmyces is closely related with the asexual state of Penicillium.
The Amanita taxa show
a significant speed up in the molecular rates of evolution in the "mtSSu-rDna".
This acceleration in the rate, which resulted in "lack of phylogenetic
resolution" amoung the taxa. The results from this shows that one
gene may stay the same while the others evolve at a quick rate.
SAMPLE SEARCH
Here is a sample of the research process:
Species: Escherichia coli
Sample Search: Section on Classification
1) Google search : classification Escherichia coli (If this is not successful, try the other search words under “classification” on syllabus )
see hit: Escherichia
(http://biology.kenyon.edu/ Microbial_Biorealm/bacteria/proteobacteria/Escherichia/Escherichia.htm)
2) Try one or more websites listed under “classification” on syllabus and listed on library help page
try: http://bioinformatics.ubc.ca/atlas/webtools/taxonlist.php
3) Confirm in library with a reference source.
In this case, I would look up in Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology
Sample Search: Evolution is the most difficult section
Best to do at the very end, after you have read quite a bit about an organism. But don't fall into the trap of needing a prin, peer-reviewed source published after 2000 for this information!
Sample Search: Section on Morphology (structure, shape, coloration, appearance)
1) Google search: Escherichia coli (If this is not successful, try the other search words under “morphology” on syllabus )
see hit: Escherichia coli - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Escherichia_coli)
see hit: Pathogenic E.coli
(http://textbookofbacteriology.net/e.coli.html)
2) Google search : morphology Escherichia coli
see hit: BSCI 424 Pathogenic Microbiology -- Escherichia
(http://www.life.umd.edu/classroom/bsci424/PathogenDescriptions/Escherichia.htm)
3) Use library reference source
In this case, I would try Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Sample Search: Section on Life Cycle & Modes of Reproduction
1) Google search: life cycle E coli
see hit: E. coli: Definition and Much More From Answers.com
(http://www.answers.com/topic/escherichia-coli)
HINT: Notice that sometimes simply changing from abbreviation to full genus name results in different links:
2) Google search: life cycle Escherichia coli
THIS IS A SCIENTIFIC PAPER that you may want to read! Be sure to give yourself enough time to request and receive the complete paper.
Under life cycle, if your species is a pathogen, you should describe how the organism enters a host, causes disease symptoms and then exits to infect a new host.
Here is an example of serendipity. This is a site that could be used for the evolution or classification section, but is not particularly useful for this section on life cycle.
4) Use library reference source, in this case, try Introductory Microbiology
5) Google search: reproduction E coli
see hit :Google Answers: functional anatomy of E. coli
(http://answers.google.com/answers/threadview?id=117268)
see hit: American Scientist Online - The Evolutionary Ecology of ...
( http://www.americanscientist.org/template/AssetDetail/assetid/14767/page/5)
see hit: Source Molecular Corporation
(http://www.sourcemolecular.com/news/newsfeb2004a.htm)
Sample Search: Section on Habitat, Niche, Importance in Ecosystem or to Mankind
1) Google search: habitat E coli
see hit :American Scientist Online - The Evolutionary Ecology of ...
(http://www.americanscientist.org/template/AssetDetail/assetid/14767/page/4)
2) Google search: role E coli
see hit: E. coli O157:H7: The Role of Animals
(http://www.vetmed.wisc.edu/pbs/zoonoses/O157DT104/O157DT104index.html )
3) Google search: ecology E coli
see hit :Pathogenic E.coli
(http://textbookofbacteriology.net/e.coli.html)
Sample Search: Section on Evolution
1) Google search: evolution Escherichia coli
All these hits seem too complex for a neophyte to understand. You need to broaden the search, by using larger taxonomic categories (information which you got from the section on classification)
2) Google search: evolution Enterobacteriaceae
This information still seems too complex for neophyte to understand. You need to broaden the search even more.
3) Google search : evolution bacteria
see hit: Evolution in bacteria: evidence for a universal substitution rate ...
(http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?cmd=Retrieve&db=PubMed&list_uids=3125340&dopt=Citation)
If needed, broaden your search even more. After reading a few “overview websites” for your organism, use the words that showed up for that organism as your search terms.
4) Google search : Evolution gram negative bacteria
see hit : The Serial Endosymbiosis Theory of Eukaryotic Evolution
(http://www.geocities.com/jjmohn/endosymbiosis.htm)
Sample Search: Draft and Continue Search as Needed
NOW, draft your paper.
Next, see what sections need additional information.
Usually, it will be in evolution because that is the most difficult information to find.
Sample Search: First, try a Google Scholar search
1) Google Scholar search: evolution E coli
see hit:Bacterial evolution
(http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/articlerender.fcgi?artid=373105&tools=bot)
2) Google Scholar search: evolutionary time line E coli
see hit: Determining divergence times of the major kingdoms of living organisms with a protein clock
(http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?cmd=Retrieve&db=PubMed&list_uids=96152364&dopt=Citation)
Sample Search: More Resources for Scientific Peer-Reviewed Journals
If during all these steps, you have yet to find two scientific journal articles that will work, start searching using the databases.
1) Ebscohost Academic Search Premier (also under Library Home Page > Article Databases > General / Multi-Subject)
Search: Escherichia coli
Select: Peer Review
Pick articles that you can read and understand.
See hit #20: E. coli 0157:H7 Incidence Drops 43 Percent in 2004.
See hit #49: Determining the Source of Fecal Contamination in Recreational Waters.
2) BioOne (also under Library Home Page > Article Databases > Alphabetical List)
Make sure the articles you select are scientific peer-revioewed articles if that is what you need.
3) Annual Reviews select Biomedical Sciences Suite
Not all articles all full-text
4) JSTOR Scholarly journals
All articles are full-text, but none are current
Full-Text of Articles
Most of the articles you find through searching Google will not be full-text.
Here are the steps for retrieving the full-text of an article:
1. Go to Library Home Page > Article Databases > Full-Text Periodicals List
Search TITLE of periodical (e. g. Journal of Microbiology)
Check date range, link to periodical and then article if available
2. Go to Library Home Page > library catalog
Search TITLE of periodical (e. g. Journal of Microbiology)
Check date range, locate print copy of periodical if available
3. If the periodical and/or article cannot be found in either of the above sources, you may order the article.
Go to Library Home Page > ILLiad
Register first, using a Then fill out the form completely. Most articles will be electronically delivered to you with 2 working days.
You may order up to 10 articles per day, 30 per week.
Resources
Books in library
| Reference Area |
|
| Encyclopedia of Microbiology |
Reference QR 9 .E53 2000 |
| Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology |
Reference QR 81 .B47 1994 |
| Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology |
Reference QR 81 .B46 |
| CRC Handbook of Microbiology |
Reference QR 41.2 .C18 1974 |
| Molecular Genetics of Bacteria |
Reference QH 434 .D35 2004 |
| Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology |
ReferenceQR 9 .D47 2004 |
| On the Origin of Phyla |
Reference QH 367.5 .V26 2004 |
| Walker's Mammals of the World |
Reference QL 703 .W222 1999 |
| World of Biology |
Reference QH 302.5 .W67 1999 |
| Variety of Life |
Reference QH 83 .T84 2000 |
| |
|
| Course Reserve Area |
you need your DSC ID for reserve items |
| Introductory Microbiology |
Reserve BIOL 1620 |
Links to search engines, databases, and utilities
Google (the best search engine)
PubMed (search for articles, very little full text)
Google Scholar (search for articles, very little full-text)
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (some articles are scholarly, some articles are full-text) 
BioOne (some articles are scholarly, all are full-text) 
Annual Reviews (scholarly journals, not all are full-text; select Biomedical Sciences Suite) 
JSTOR (scholarly journals, none are current) 
MLA Guide (learn the proper format) or see Documenting Sources
RefWorks (format your bibliography) use group code from off-campus 
Full-Text Periodicals List (look for articles in library databases)
Library Catalog (look for print copies of articles)
ILLiad (order articles not found in databases or our library)
Off-Campus Access
To use databases from off-campus, select the off-campus icon and enter
the current username and password. You will need to obtain the current
semester password from a librarian. To use RefWorks from off-campus, you may also need to use the group code.
Web Sites for Non-Scientific Articles
These are not scientific journal articles, but they can further understanding
of a topic.They can also help in selecting a topic as they can be browsed. The library also has print copies of these magazines
in the periodicals section (current year upstairs, past years downstairs), since sometimes the articles are not full
text online.
Science magazine http://www.sciencemag.org/
National Geographic magazine http://www.nationalgeographic.com/
Nature http://www.nature.com/
|
Created by:
Martha Talman
Instruction Librarian |
Questions or corrections?
Contact: talman@dixie.edu |
Date Created:
08/30/03
Last Updated:
01/13/06 |
|