![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|
||
Follow
these steps to successfully find information Research Source Worksheet Complete one worksheet for each source Begin Your Research:
Start with a general encyclopedia to find basic information about
your element. This is a basic online encyclopedia. Hint: Limit your results to "Title." Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This is an advanced source of chemistry data: Reference Sources - Background Information
Books Books can be a good source of information for this paper. Remember to use broader topics if you don't find anything on your specific topic. For example, there are no results for chemistry and perfume. However, a search for perfume returns the title Perfume: The Art and Science of Scent. Library Home Page > Books & More > Library Catalog The library's large number of e-books is searchable through the library catalog; however, additional information can often be found by searching the e-book collections directly because this searches the full-text of the e-books. To find more books on your element, use Utah's Catalog, which is a combined catalog of various Utah Academic Libraries. If you find books of interest, you may order them through our ILLiad, Interlibrary Loan service. Allow 10 days for delivery. Periodical Databases These subscription databases are excellent sources of general and scholarly scholarly articles. Academic Search Premier MAS Ultra - School Edition (partial full-text) MasterFILE Premier (partial full-text) Annual Reviews (some full-text) Clinical Pharmacology (full-text, for drug topics) Need full-text of an article? 1. Check Library Catalog to see if we have the journal in print (use browse search for periodical title for best results); 2. Check
Full-Text Online Periodicals List for journal title; Use the blue off-campus icons for access off-campus. This requires a username and password. Username and password are available by presenting a current DSC ID card at the library. Evaluating Web Sites:
The Web sites listed above have all been researched for accuracy.
If you find other Internet sites, evaluate them carefully according
to the following criteria.
Selected Web Sites - General NIST WebBook: Data on thousands of compounds. ChemExper: More than 70,000 chemicals can be searched by molecular formula, IUPAC name, common name, CAS number, catalog number, substructure or physical characteristics. World of Molecules: Scoll down to Molecule Database and search catgories like Food Molecules, Antioxidant Molecules, Supplements, Pesticides and Insecticides, Solvent Molecules, Molecules of Color (pigments and dyes), Molecules of Disease, Drug Molecules, Fuel Molecules, Materials, and more. Chemistry of Everyday Life: Frequently asked questions about everyday chemistry. This could be a good source to scan for potential topics. U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA): Library of Chemistry Information : Color Additives, Cosmetics, Food Additives, Pesticides, etc.; Food & Chemistry; link to the EPA's Learn About Chemicals Around Your House (for kids, but fun and informative). Chemistry Index: A wide variety of topics at About.com. Chemical Structures Index: Also from About.com, the chemical and molecular structures of many substances. Molecule of the Month: A directory of web sites about specific substances. The Chemistry Hall of Fame: 25 chemicals from York University (UK). Mouse over for short descriptions, click on words for more information. Chemical of the Week: from a professor at the University of Wisconsin. Chemistry of Fireworks: An example of research into the chemistry of everyday objects. See also Chemical of the Week: Fireworks! Chemistry of Cosmetics: Introduction to the chemistry of some everyday beauty and hygiene products. Chlorophyll (Chelates) Web Search: Use this search engine to locate Internet sites on your topic.
Search strategy : RefWorks : bibliographic management software MLA Style Guide : for help with creating your own Works Cited, checking the accuracy of RefWorks citations, or using in-text citations.
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||