Research Guide : Educational Psychology



Educational Theorists

Encyclopedias
Books
Articles
Locate Full-Text
Off-Campus Access
Web Sites
Citations


Encyclopedias - General

Two kinds of encyclopedias are found in the library, general and subject specific.

The library has several general encyclopedias in print and subscribes to an online general encyclolpedia:

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

Examples
Search: Montessori
Search: Maria Montessori
Search: Progressive and education

Encyclopedias - Subject Specific

Education and other subject encyclopedias are also excellent places to begin researching an educational theorist. These titles are located in the Reference section of the Browning Library. Use the Index Volume and search for the theorist by last name or name of theory.

Examples
Look for: Rogers, Carl

Look for: Experiential learning

Encyclopedia of Education Reference LB 15 .E47 2003
Encyclopedia of Psychology Reference BF 31 .E52 2000
Encyclopedia of Educational Research Reference LB 15 .E48 1992
World Education Encyclopedia Reference LB 15 .W87 2001
International Encyclopedia of Education Reference LB 15 .I569 1994
Encyclopedia of Early Chilldhood Education ReferenceLB 1139.25 .E53 1992
Encyclopedia of Learning & Memory Reference BF 318 .E53 1992
American Educator's Encyclopedia Reference LB 15 .D37 1991
Education & Sociology: An Encyclopedia Reference LC 189.95 .E38 2002
Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence Reference BF 431 .E59 1994
Encyclopedia of American Education Reference LB 17 .U54 2001
Encyclopedia of Special Education Reference LC 4007 .E53 2002
Encyclopedia of Bilingualism & Bilingual Education Reference LC 3707 .E53 1998

Return to Top


Books - Library

Use the library catalog to search for books, electronic books, and videos in the library on an educational theorist. Search using person's name or name of theory.

Examples
Search: Bruner
Search: Jerome Bruner
Search: Constructivis*
(will retrieve both Constructivist and Constructivism)

More Books

Utah's Catalog : Search the library catalogs of academic libraries

Books - Interlibrary Loan

Use the Interlibrary Loan service to order books not found in our library.

Books - Course Reserve

Fifty Major Thinkers on Education: From Confucius to Dewey

Return to Top


Articles - Biographies

Use Biography Reference Bank to find information about
an educational theorist.

Biography Reference Bank

Examples
Search: Gardner, Howard
Search: Papert, Seymour

Articles - Periodicals

Use these databases to find more advanced articles on theorists
and their work.

Education FullText

Professional Development Collection

ERIC

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite

Examples
Search: Benjamin Bloom
Search: Vygotsky
Search: (learning or cognition) and situated
Search: Rudolf Steiner

Return to Top


Locate Articles Full-Text

Follow these steps to find an article:

  1. Check Full-Text Electronic Periodicals List
    (look up title of publication)
  2. Look up title of publication in Library Catalog
    (use Browse search for best results)
  3. If not found, order magazine & journal articles from UTAD

Web Sites

Theory Into Practice (TIP) : "The Theories" lists many educational theories and includes profiles of theorists

Educational Theories : Theories as they relate to gifted education

Educational Theory Handbook : "A Collection of Theories and Theorists: an aid to the student of educational theory."

Open Directory - Learning Theories : Many listings for Web sites about individual theorists and theories

Funderstanding - About Learning : Basic treatments of the 12 most popular theories of learning

Interactive Educational Psychology : From Valdosta State, an array of information on a variety of theories

How People Learn : Online book with index

Theoretical Sources : From the University of Colorado, includes major schools of thought and some lesser-known theories. Links include student projects

The Teaching-Learning Process - A Discussion of Models

Conditions of Learning : Links to information and charts of systems and models of learning

Web Sites - Individual Theories

Educational Theory : Online journal focusing on theories of John Dewey

Constructivist Learning Theory

Social Learning Theory (Albert Bandura)

Return to Top


Citations

After you gather your sources, it is important to format them correctly in your References list.

We have created an APA guide to assist you in creating correct citations (Library Home Page > Help (upper right) > APA Style Guide).


Remember, for help with citations or any other research,
librarians available to assist you!

Use our Live Chat online reference service anytime, anyday!

Return to Top

created 9/27/02
last updated 10/12/04


Copyright © 2001 - Dixie State College, for more information contact: snyder@dixie.edu