Back to Subject Research Guides



    Research Guide : Film


    Follow these steps to successfully find information
    for your English 2010 film papers.


    To find the release date and director of a film, use either:

    Internet Movie DataBase

    or

    VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever Reference PN 1992.95 .V534


    Reference Sources - Background Information
    Film Encyclopedia Reference PN 1993.45 .K34 2001
    International Dictionary of Films & Filmmakers Reference PN 1997.8 .I58 2001
    Motion Picture Guide Reference PN 1993 .M4334
    St. James Film Directors Encyclopedia Reference PN 1998.2 .S68 1998
      New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made

    Reference PN 1995.C343 1999

      Critical Dictionary of Film & Television Theory Reference PN 1993.45 .C75 2001

    Books

    Find books by searching the title of the film or the director's name:

    Library Home Page > Books & More >

    Library Catalog : books in our library

    Utah's Catalog : books in other academic libraries that can be ordered

    ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan) : register and order books not in our library


    Periodical Databases

    For film studies, the following databases are recommended:

    Art Full Text (some full-text)

    America: History and Life (limited full-text linking)

    Humanities Abstracts (index only)

    MLA International Bibliography (index only)

    Project MUSE (full-text)

    Reader's Guide Abstracts
    (index only)

    EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite & MasterFILE Premier
    (some full-text)

    Newspaper databases may also be helpful for finding reviews:

    Lexis-Nexis Academic (includes reviews back to 1980)

    ProQuest Newspapers (newspaper coverage)

    For off-campus access, present a current DSC ID to a librarian for a username and password.


    To order full-text of magazine and journal articles:

    UTAD (Utah Article Delivery Service)


    Citations: How to write correct works cited lists and use parenthetical citations.

    MLA Style Guide


    created 05/30/03
    last updated 6/10/03



      Ccreated by:
      Martha Talman
      Instruction Librarian

      Questions or corrections?
      Contact: talman@dixie.edu
      Date Created:
      08/30/03
      Last Updated:
      09/02/03
Copyright © 2001 - Dixie State College, for more information contact: library@dixie.edu