Research Guide : FCS 1500 - Human Development

Resources for Observation Assignments

Reference Sources

Books

Articles

Off-Campus Access

Literature Option for One Observation


Reference Sources

Begin with a good specialized encyclopedia.
Use the index at the back of the last volume to find an article.

Title
Call Number
Boyhood in America Reference HQ 775 .B635 2001
Child Development Reference HQ 772 .C436 2002
Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence Reference HQ 772 .G27 1998
Encyclopedia of Adolescence Reference HQ 796 .E58 1990
Encyclopedia of Psychology Reference BF 31 .E52 2000
Encyclopedia of Special Education Reference LC 4007 .E53 2000
Girlhood in America Reference HQ 777 .G5745 2001
Infancy in America Reference HQ 774 .I528 2001
Parenthood in America Reference HQ 755.8 .P3783 2000
The Family in America Reference HQ 536 .H365 2001

Books

Use the library catalog to find books on human development or a specific age group.

Sample Search terms:

Child development
Children
Child rearing
Child psychology
Child behavior
Developmental biology
Developmental psychology
Infants and development
Infant psychology

Examples of Helpful Books:

Human Development 98/99
155.4 H918

Classroom Observer:
Developing Observation Skills in Early Childhood Settings

(Reserve) LB 1027.28 .B64 1997

Observing Development of the Young Child
(Reserve) 155.4 B369o


Articles

Use the library databases to find articles.

EBSCOHost Academic Search Elite* - a mix of academic and popular magazines and journals, many articles are full-text.

ERIC* - a huge educational clearinghouse of information, most ERIC documents (ED) since 1993 have linked full-text.

Use the Full-Text Electronic Periodicals Search to find the full-text of journal articles (EJ) in other databases.

Professional Development Collection* - a collection of 515 education magazines and journals.

Education Full Text - a database containing articles on a variety of education topics, including human development.

PsychInfo* - comprehensive index of psychology articles containing extensive material but no full-text.

Use the Full-Text Electronic Periodicals Search to find the full-text of journal articles in other databases.

(*These databases can all be searched at one time by marking all three on the list of EBSCOhost databases.)


Off-Campus Access

To use databases from computers not located on the DSC campus, you must select your databases from the Off-Campus Access list.

Using databases from off-campus locations requires a username and password which must be obtained from a librarian. Please come to the library and show your DSC ID card with the current semester sticker, and we'd be happy to help you.


Literature Option

You have the option of substituting a character in a book of children's literature for one observation. These books from the Browning Library are suggested as good titles for the age group you are studying.

Unless otherwise noted, all books are in the Juvenile Fiction collection on the main level.

Title
Author
Call Number
A Day No Pigs Would Die Peck, Robert Fiction P3675d
A Fine White Dust Rylant, Cynthia Fiction R994f
A Single Shard Park, Linda Sue Fiction P2359s
An Early Winter Bauer, Marion Dane Fiction B3446e
Arthur, For the Very First Time MacLachlan, Patricia Fiction M161a
Bearstone Hobbs, Will Fiction H682b
Because of Winn-Dixie DiCamillo,Kate Fiction D5451b
Bingo Brown and the Language of Love Byars, Betsy Fiction B9932bi
Blubber Blume, Judy Fiction B658b
Brian's Winter Paulsen, Gary Fiction P332b

Bridge to Terabithia

Paterson, Katherine Fiction P296b
Bud, Not Buddy Curtis, Christopher Fiction C9786b
Catherine, Called Birdy Cushman, Karen Fiction C986c
Crazy Lady! Conly, Jane Leslie Fiction C752c
Dangerous Skies Staples, Suzanne Fisher Fiction S794d
Dogsong Paulsen, Gary Fiction P332d
Earthquake Terror Kehret, Peg Fiction K269e
Everything on a Waffle Horvath, Peggy Fiction H83239e
Found Oldham, June Fiction O44f
Hatchet Paulsen, Gary Fiction P332h
Haveli Staples, Suzanne Fisher Fiction S794h
Holes Sacher, Louis Fiction S1211h
Inside Out Martin, Ann M. Fiction M3795i
Jacob Have I Loved Paterson, Katherine Fiction P2732j
Joey Pigza Loses Control Gantos, Jack Fiction G2113jo
Julie of the Wolves George, Jean Craighead Fiction G3483j
Justin and the Best Biscuits in the World Walter, Mildred Pitts Fiction W233j
Kathleen, Please Come Home O'Dell, Scott Fiction O23k
Kokopelli's Flute Hobbs, Will Fiction H682k
Lily's Crossing Giff, Patricia Reilly Fiction G456L
Maizon at Blue Hill Woodson, Jacqueline Fiction W898m
Make Lemonade Wolff, Virginia Euwer Fiction W8559m
Make Like a Tree and Leave Danziger, Paula Fiction D199m
Maniac Magee Spinelli, Jerry Fiction S7575m
Missing May Rylant, Cynthia Fiction R994m
Moonshiner's Son Reeder, Carolyn Fiction R327m
My Louisiana Sky Holt, Kimberly Willis Fiction H7583my
My Mother Got Married (and Other Disasters) Park, Barbara Fiction P235m
My Side of the Mountain George, Jean Craighead Fiction G3483m
Night of the Twisters Ruckman, Ivy Fiction R912n
Nightjohn Paulsen, Gary Fiction P332n
Nothing but the Truth Avi Fiction A957n
Number the Stars Lowry, Lois Fiction L9216n
On My Honor Bauer, Marion Dane Fiction B3446o
Our Only May Amelia Holm, Jennifer L. Fiction H7472o
Park's Quest Paterson, Katherine Fiction P296p
Philip Hall Likes Me. I Reckon Maybe. Greene, Bette Fiction G7991p
Racing the Sun Pitts, Paul Fiction P692r
Sarah, Plain and Tall MacLachlan, Patricia Fiction M161s
Saving Shiloh Naylor, Phyllis Reynolds Fiction N333sa
Shabanu Staples, Suzanne Fisher Fiction S794s
Sharing Susan Bunting, Eve Fiction B942s
Shiloh Naylor, Phyllis Reynolds Fiction N333s
Shiloh Season Naylor, Phyllis Reynolds Fiction N333sh
Sign of the Beaver Speare, Elizabeth George Fiction S7412s
Slot Machine Lynch, Chris Fiction L987s
Somewhere in the Darkness Myers, Walter Dean Fiction M996so
Starring Sally J. Freedman as Herself Blume, Judy Fiction B658st
Strider Cleary, Beverly Fiction C623s
Summer of My German Soldier Greene, Bette Fiction G799s
Summer of the Swans Byars, Betsy Fiction B993s
The Cay Taylor, Theodore Fiction T2466c
The Chocolate War Cormier, Robert 813.5 C811c (Dewey Decimal)
The Facts and Fictions of Minna Pratt MacLachlan, Patricia Fiction M161f
The Fear Place Naylor, Phyllis Reynolds Fiction N333f
The Giver Lowry, Lois Fiction L921g
The Great Gilly Hopkins Paterson, Katherine Fiction P296g
The Hideout Bunting, Eve Fiction B9428h
The Midwife's Apprentice Cushman, Karen Fiction C986m
The Moves Make the Man Brooks, Bruce Fiction B873m
The Pinballs Byars, Betsy Fiction B993p
The View from Saturday Konigsburg, E. L. Fiction K82v
Timothy of the Cay Taylor, Theodore Fiction T2466ti
True Believer Wolff, Virginia Euwer Fiction W8559t
Unclaimed Treasures MacLachlan, Patricia Fiction M161u
Walk Two Moons Creech, Sharon Fiction C9132wa
Water Sky George, Jean Craighead Fiction G348w
What Hearts Brooks, Bruce Fiction B873w
When Zachary Beaver Came to Town Holt, Kimberly Willis Fiction H7583w
With Secrets to Keep Levit, Rose Fiction L666w
Wringer Spinelli, Jerry Fiction S757w
Zipper, the Kid with ADHD Janover, Caroline Fiction J348z

created 1/09/03
updated 1/13/03


Copyright © 2001 - Dixie State College, for more information contact: snyder@dixie.edu