Research Guide
: Artist Biographies
This guide is
available online:
Library Home
Page > Information Literacy > Research Guides > Art
Follow these
steps to successfully find information
to complete your Art 1010 assignment:
1. To select
an artist if you have not already chosen one:
Gardner's Art
Through the Ages Reference N 5300 .G25 2001
2. The best
place to begin your research on a particular artist:
Dictionary of
Art Reference N 31 .D5 1996
What to look for
in the Dictionary of Art:
- Name
- Dates
- Period of time
- Geographic region
or country
- Genre (Cubist,
Modernist, etc.)
- Formats (painting,
sculpture, etc.)
- Names of important
works
- Other resources
listed in the bibliography
Other reference
books:
- The Prestel
Dictionary of Art and Artists in the 20th Century
Reference N 33 .P74 2000
- A Dictionary
of Twentieth-Century Art Reference N 6490 .C5317 1999
- Dictionary
of Contemporary American Artists
Reference N 6512 .C854 1994
- Dictionary
of Women Artists Reference N 8354 .D53 1997
- Biographical
Dictionary of Artists
Reference N 40 .B53 1995
- World Artists
Reference N 6489 .M37 1984
- Contemporary
Western Artists Reference N 6525 .S25 1985
- Penguin Concise
Dictionary of Art History Reference N 5300 .F64 2000
- North American
Women Artists Reference N 6503 .N67 1995
3. To find biographies
and books of artworks, use the library catalog:
Library Home
Page > Books & More > Online Library Catalog
Search by:
- Name of artist
(e.g. Claude Monet)
- Format (e.g.
sculptures, paintings, etc.)
- Genre (e.g.
Impressionist)
- Geographic area
(e.g. art and Italy)
- Time period
(e.g. art and twentieth century)
4. Article databases
that can help you find information about your artist:
Library Home
Page > Article Databases > Alphabetical List
- Biographies
Plus Illustrated : Great source of full-text articles on
110,000 famous people -- your artist is probably included!
- Art FullText
: Comprehensive, contains some full-text articles.
An excellent source for articles of art criticism.
5. Some Web
sites you may find helpful:
- ArtCyclopedia
: Search by artist name, title or work, movement, subject,
nationality, or browse 7,500 artists. http://artcyclopedia.com/
- WebMuseum,
Paris : Organized by period. Includes more than 150 artists with
biographical information and images of their work. http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/
- Art History
Resources on the Web : Comprehensive directory of images,
biographical and background information, museum links, and more.
http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html
- Google : Enter your artist's name in quotes (e.g. "Marc Chagall").
http://www.google.com
6. To find images
of artworks on the World Wide Web:
- Art Resources
Archive : Over 3 million images by 10,000 artists.
http://www.artres.com/collpage.htm
- World Art
Treasures : Over 100,000 images searchable by artist,
country, or period. http://www.bergerfoundation.ch/
- Web Gallery
of Art : Searchable database of 10,000 images of European
painting and sculture from 1150 to 1800. http://gallery.euroweb.hu/
- World Wide
Arts Resources : Includes brief biographical information and
links to images of works by a variety of masters.
http://wwar.com/categories/Artists/Masters/
- Art Images
for College Teaching : "A free-use image resource for the
educational community." http://arthist.cla.umn.edu/aict/html/
- Orazio Centario's
Art Images on the Web : Links to over 13,000 art images.
http://www.ocaiw.com/indexing.htm
- Google Image
Search : The most comprehensive image search on the Web.
Enter your artist's name in quotes (e.g. "Paul Cezanne").
http://images.google.com/
- Corbis
: Commercial image database with free viewing access.
http://www.corbis.com/
7. Citation
Help:
Library Home
Page > Help (upper right) > MLA Style Guide
Remember librarians
are available to assist you!